Cooking

Just Another Lemon Tree

At the present time, hubby and I live in a rather small flat. It’s not minute, but it’s really not huge either. And as such, we don’t have much in the way of a garden. In fact, our garden consists of a veggie patch which we built in December last year, and a lemon tree. And what our veggie garden lacks in produce, our lemon tree more than makes up for. This lemon tree, despite being the litter box for two kitties, bears amazing amounts of fruit for a good few months of the year. And (happy me!) most of the fruit on the tree is ripe at this particular moment in time.

However, one of my pet peeves is wasting food. I really don’t like wasting food. But when I’m confronted by bags (and I do mean bags) of lemons, even my creativity falters somewhat. This is what happened last year – but somehow I managed to get through all my lemons and made so much gorgeous lemony goodness that I’ve been eagerly watching my lemon tree’s bounty grow ripe in anticipation of more lemony goodness.

I’m not planning on posting everything at once, but rather will post as I go along – but this is what I’m planning:

  • lemon curd
  • candied lemon peel, which has a byproduct of:
  • lemon syrup, which can be used to make:
  • lemonade
  • lemon marmalade – this year I want to try making flavour combos. At this moment I’m thinking lemon and ginger would be good… anyone got any good ideas for other flavour combos? Thoughts on lemon and pear?
  • limoncello (lemon liqueur)

Anything else I should add? Last year I made preserved lemons as well (basically lemons packed in salt) but I was too much of a chicken to use them and ended up having to throw them out. That will NOT happen again. Promise.

Oooooh… I’m excited! Will post a picture of the lemon tree in the next lemon post. Come back and visit if you want to see it! 😛

G O A S-S B

7 thoughts on “Just Another Lemon Tree

  1. I wonder HOW! I wonder WHY! Yesterday you told me ’bout the blue blue skyyyy! And all that I can seee….. is just another LEMON TREEEE!

    Am I showing my age?

  2. I had a jam at “die strandlooper” and its flavour was lemon and granadilla. It was amazing and was suprised at how tasty it was.

    I love cooking with fresh lemon – and add the zest to so many dishes. I have to agree with ash bags and you must make lemon sorbet. It is so refreshing in the summer.

    Here is a recipe I have been dying to try out – it looks so yummy Plus it being winter – http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/5781/lemon-selfsaucing-pudding

    This is what I did once when I had an over flow of lemons and the best part it can keep for up to 3months in the fridge

    Candied Lemon Slices
    1 cup water
    ¾ cup sugar
    2 t grated lemon rind
    4 medium thin-skinned lemons

    Bring the water, sugar and lemon rind to the boil. Add the sliced lemons or limes, cover and boil for 5 minutes. Pack hot into a clean glass jar and store in the fridge. Will keep for 3 months in the fridge.

    I maybe back with some more inspirational lemon tricks – 🙂

Leave a Reply

