Uncategorized

This – This is What Happiness Is Made Of

ImageHow gorgeous do these look? Aren’t they stunning? Do you not want to reach into the screen and grab one? I don’t blame you if you do. They are beyond delicious. I can hear you asking, though, why I made doughnuts when they’re not expensive to buy and there are many places where a bought doughnut is quite delicious. Well… the answer is two-fold. First – Trust me, these are better than any bought doughnut out there. There is nothing quite as delicious as a FRESH doughnut. Straight out of the fryer. And second – I was needing a snack that my husband and a bunch of other hungry men would enjoy, which I didn’t need to buy many ingredients for.

I’d made these guys once before, and wasn’t particularly happy with the result – don’t get me wrong, they were good – I just felt that they could be better. So I did buy one ingredient – fresh yeast. Turns out that that was my problem. So – please make sure that the yeast you buy is nice and fresh – and follow the instructions to the letter. This is the recipe I used: awesome doughnuts. They are from an amazing site called “The Pioneer Woman” – I have made so many of her recipes over the years and they have never been anything but fantastic. I’m not going to repost the recipe here because I didn’t change a thing. Also – The Pioneer Woman took gorgeous process shots which are very helpful when cooking something as involved and complex and doughnuts.

However, I will give you a couple of handy hints and tricks and useful information:

  • Use fresh yeast. Yes, I know I’ve already told you that, but I’m telling you again. Trust me on this one!
  • Make the glaze exactly as she says. It sounds a bit strange – milk and salt in a doughnut glaze – but it’s amazing and is what sends these doughnuts over the top delicious.
  • Make more than you think you need. Make the whole batch. I promise you. I got three dozen doughnuts out of the batch, plus a few extra doughnut holes and some randomly shaped scraps. The next day I had four doughnuts left. That was all. Four guys polished most of the batch off by themselves – so I promise you, they will NOT go to waste.
  • Don’t be afraid of the deep-frying part. One little-known fact is that deep-frying doesn’t actually absorb a huge amount of oil if the oil is hot enough when you first put the item in. If the oil is nice and hot it seals the outside of the batter/dough/skin, so that it just cooks the inside without the oil going in. Which is why some people get a beautiful fried good done properly, while others just get an oily mess. Once you know this secret, you will never make an oily mess again.
  • Get a deep-fry/candy thermometer. They can be a little bit pricey, but they really are worth it. So many recipes work better when you have one of these – and when you’re dealing with hot oil it is a good idea to know just how hot the oil is. Too hot and you’ll have burnt on the outside and doughy on the inside doughnuts. And nobody wants that. Not hot enough and you have an oily mess. (see above)
  • Flipping the doughnuts can be a bit tricky. However, the one place I deviated from the Pioneer Woman’s recipe, is I didn’t use a slotted spoon. Mainly because I couldn’t find it. I remembered watching a program where someone was making doughnuts, however, and that person used chopsticks to flip them over. With that in mind, I found an old disposable pair of chopsticks and went at it. What a difference! So easy – and the best part is that the chopsticks don’t collect oil in the same way that a spoon does. Also, I could let it drip into the pan very easily – I just threaded the three I had in the pan at the same time onto a chopstick and spun them a bit – just enough for some oil to come off – then onto the paper towel.
  • I didn’t have paper towels. So I used some paper napkins I had left over. They worked surprisingly well!
  • Please make these? They are amazing and you’ll never see a bought doughnut in the same way again.
  • On second thoughts – maybe you shouldn’t make them.
  • No – I’ve changed my mind again. Please make them. Your life shall forever be enriched.

Enjoy!

G O A S-S B

One thought on “This – This is What Happiness Is Made Of

Leave a Reply

